Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Angel #001

Hanwellcem100522_078

It’s a shame that mortuary, of the sort practiced by Victorians, is too expensive an option for most people these days. This one, from Hanwell Cemetery, is fairly typical of a popular style and identical winged ethereal beings can be found in most older cemeteries.

Why they appeal to me so much I can’t say. I suppose there is an element of wear that I find aesthetic, and to a certain extent they represent the remains of a species whose like we will not see again, at least in our lifetimes. So, if you see me hanging about in the cemetery, looking at graves with a rather suspiciously high level of interest, please check if I’m carrying a camera. If I’m not, well… Hey ho!

Leave a Reply

