Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Self Portrait #001

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Part of the reason that this picture came out so well is due to the lens. Back in the 80s I had an Olympus film camera and used to buy second hand lenses from one of the many independent camera shops in London’s West End. I picked up one very cheaply because it was missing the inset disc on the front of the lens where you usually have the make and the focal length and the filter size printed. There’s probably a name for this part of the lens but I’ve never discovered what it is. Let’s call it the Gazebo. This lens had its Gazebo missing. but I bought it anyway.
Anyhoo, it turned out to be a Zeiss lens, which are marvellous beautiful things that pick up much detail. New ones these days are about £1000. I then bought an adaptor for my Olympus E420 digital camera, which meant that I could use all my old Olympus lenses, albeit with manual focus only. Thus, there was a lot of jumping about between the chair and the camera before I got myself in proper focus, but the results are quite amazing when you get it right. There is some Photoshop jiggery pokery, but not a huge amount. I didn’t use any added lighting. I sat in my mum’s chair next to the window in North Wales. I always prefer natural light. Job’s a good ‘un.

Leave a Reply

