Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Woman on The Tube at Hammersmith

0tube009

There was a time not so long ago when phone photography was a low-res and not very satisfactory option. With phone cameras improving their specs and resolution regularly phone photography has become a genre on its own, especially given that there’s now a wide range of apps and attachments to give your pictures a bit of glitz.
I love taking pictures on the London Underground. Last year I started building a collection photographs of random commuters with my Samsung Galaxy, mainly those people sitting opposite me. At the end of last year I took twenty-six of the best and published them in a book called ‘Brief Encounters’.
I used two different android apps for this. The first is Retrocam which takes pictures in the style of five retro point-and-click film cameras. I import the square picture into another app called Pixlr-o-matic which has a wide range of effects and frames.
This lady is one of my favourites. She is full of warmth and character and the composition is nicely balanced with a range of textures and tones.

Leave a Reply

