Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Henry The Dog

henry110418_056a

Henry is a dog we have round to visit now and then, and is one of my favourite photographic subjects. It’s a challenging process, since Henry is never that keen on sitting still. On this occasion, quite serendipitously, Henry decided to sit on the stairs where the sun was shining in, throwing the shadows of the window frame on to the wall, and I managed to grab this shot of him while he was looking at me through the bannisters, wondering what the hell I was doing, no doubt.
I have a sneaking suspicion that Henry knows exactly what the camera is, but won’t allow himself to be photographed until he knows he’s going to look good.
This was taken at ISO 400 at 1/400th of a second with an Olympus wide-angle zoom at 25mm, set to F2.8 which reduced the depth of field so that only Henry was in focus.
I have to confess that I was aware only of the ISO and the aperture at the time, since I tend to have my camera on the aperture priority setting most of the time, and let it decide the shutter speed for itself.
Is this a good thing? I’m not too sure. Lately I’ve been experimenting with manual settings, and although it is a terrifying prospect it is exhilarating to leap into the unknown now and again.
We’ll see how that turns out.

Leave a Reply

