Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Still Life At Home

home100605_003

Interesting images can be found anywhere. If it’s a rainy day and you’re stuck at home, try taking some pictures of the objects in your home. Admittedly, the objects in my home are stranger than in the average household.
I’ve always had a yen for the Gothic and the Grand Guignol. I have an old 1965 diary somewhere that someone gave me when I was a child and I filled it with drawings of Herman and Lily Munster, the Werewolf and Dracula.
In the Nineties I did a large amount of illustration work for American Horror magazines, but even before that I was collecting gothic Objets D’Art, and people started giving us gifts that they thought might fit in.
My partner bought me a life-size human skeleton for Christmas a few years ago. I call him Doctor Pretorious, and he gets decorated with tinsel and lights for the Yuletide.
I’m not sure where the phrenology head or the small white skull came from, but the large skull was cast in plaster from a latex mould that we made about twenty years ago, then painted and varnished.
The things in one’s home are not just objects. Like photographs, they are receptacles of memory.

Leave a Reply

