Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Kensal Rise Gasworks

kensalrise100627_095a

I like gasworks, me.
This is situated just to the South of Kensal Green Cemetery, which is full of marvellous Victorian and Edwardian tombs, many of which are based on Ancient Egyptian designs, something of a fashion back then.
I don’t find this structure incongruous as I’ve always seen a relationship between the industrial and the gothic, to the extent that I was at one time considered to be part of an Industrial Gothic Art movement. I’m not sure it was a proper movement, more of a shrug if I’m honest about it, but I was nevertheless part of it, and this is why.

Leave a Reply

