Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Welsh Communion

wales-a--080

A few years ago, I took a few shots of random objects in my mother’s home in Wrexham, North Wales where I grew up. I’m glad I did now, as she no longer lives there and these odd little photos remind me of the atmosphere of the place.
Wrexham, much like Belgium, is a centre of surrealism since wherever you go in the town you are bound to find something that doesn’t make any sense. I did not realise until I was working on this picture that on the dial of my mother’s kitchen scales it says ‘Not for legal use’, from which I deduce it would be ideal for measuring out half pounds of crack cocaine.

Leave a Reply

