Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Welsh Communion #03

wales110306_075a

This is another of a series of still lifes taken in my mother’s old house. In this case the subject is one of her orthopaedic shoes. It reminds me of the time that we had to drive to St Asaph to pick them up. My brother had rung the shop to ask their postcode as, he announced very loudly on the phone just in case the people next door hadn’t heard ‘I want to use my SATELLITE NAVIGATION SYSTEM!’
The calm female voice duly told us where to turn left and right until about halfway when my brother went completely off-route.
‘You’re not doing what she’s telling you!’ my mother said as the SATNAV told us to ‘turn around now’ for the umpteenth time.
‘They just want you to keep to the main roads,’ said my brother, and continued on his own route, which seemed to defeat the object somewhat.

Leave a Reply

