Roddy Williams – An ongoing portfolio

Exposure 6

On my last computer, which sadly died of a broken part, I used to have Exposure 2, which worked in conjunction with Photoshop. I began to miss the various grain effects resurrected to replicate black and white film of the past. I have therefore downloaded a trial version of Exposure 6, which is a more advanced beast, and which one can use as a stand-alone programme. This is good because it is too advanced to work with Photoshop CS4 or Adobe Lightroom 4, which I’m currently using.

OK. So what does it do? This is the original, unadulterated image below.
wales110306_050

I like the old fast photographic films which inevitably had some serious grain. My usual choice back in the day was 400 ISO or upwards.

Kodak Tri-X 400

There is a definitely noticeable but not overpowering grain effect on this film and this appears to have been well-reproduced here. I can’t honestly say for certain as it has been a while, but I like the effect which, like all the presets in this programme, are fully editable.

wales110306_050--Tri-x400

Kodak T-MAX P3200

Going to a little of an extreme, film with an ISO of 3200 is going to have a definitely strong grain. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but is ideal for specific dramatic subject matter.

wales110306_050--T-Max-P320

There are also many other directories of options, for both colour and black and white. The vintage options are excellent and produce infinitely better results than the sort of thing you tend to find on phone apps.

wales110306_050--daguerevig

I will be posting more, as I am still exploring the possibilities. I have fifteen days of free trial, so I have time to decide if I want this or not… I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

